About Chifley

The Federal Division of Chifley is named after Joseph Benedict (Ben) Chifley (1885-1951), Prime Minister of Australia (1945 – 1949) and was first proclaimed in 1968-1969.

Industries in the electorate include light manufacturing and service industries.

Chifley covers an area of approximately 135 sq km with the main suburbs being Blackett, Blacktown, Dharruk, Doonside, Eastern Creek, Emerton, Glendenning, Hassall Grove, Hebersham, Lethbridge Park, Minchinbury, Mount Druitt, Plumpton, Rooty Hill, St Marys, Shalvey, Shanes Park, Tregear, Whalan, Willmot and Woodcroft.

On 17 February 2009, the Electoral Commissioner made a determination of state and territory representation entitlements. This entitled New South Wales to 48 members of the House of Representatives, one less than its previous entitlement.

This was due largely to the shift in population from New South Wales to Queensland. This required the abolition of one electoral division and the redrawing of the remaining electoral boundaries to compensate.

On 22 December 2009, the final boundaries were gazetted by the Parliament and they will come into effect at the next Federal Election.

When the 2009 boundaries come into effect at the upcoming Federal election, Chifley will lose electors in Blacktown, east of Flushcombe Road; east of Balmoral Street from Bungarabee Road to Richmond Road; and East of Ashlar Golf Course.

New electors to Chifley will include residents of Minchinbury, Shanes Park, Marsden Park, Riverstone west of the rail line, Quakers Hill west of the rail line and Marayong north of Breakfast Creek.

Previous Members
The Hon. Roger Price MP (ALP) 1984 – 2010
R N J Gorman (ALP) 1983-84
J L Armitage (ALP) 1969-83