Volunteer Awards honours dedicated community volunteers

Chifley Federal MP Ed Husic has recognised the dedication and generosity of local volunteers at the Chifley Volunteers Awards, held this afternoon at the Mt Druitt Hub.

From a field of 18 worthwhile nominees, seven extraordinary individuals were chosen for special recognition.

The ceremony capped off National Volunteer Week, celebrating the commitment of Australia’s 6 million volunteers.

Denis Byrne from Ropes Crossing was named 2013 Chifley Volunteer of the Year for his commitment to volunteering which has inspired others to take part.

Denis happily gives his time each week to the Rochford Place Retirement Village at Ropes Crossing as a volunteer bus driver for elderly residents.

Through his volunteering effort, Denis helps residents overcome isolation that comes after no longer being able to drive.

He provides daytrips and other outings – demonstrating his personal care right down to the helping hand guiding older residents on and off the buses.

“It’s truly humbling to learn about the volunteer work going on to make our community a better place and the lives of others more fulfilling,” Mr Husic said.

“Without recognition ceremonies like today’s, many of these volunteering stories may go untold so I must thank those who took the time to nominate these people and tell their stories.”

• Rita De Wal from Oakhurst and Martha Lynch from Doonside were jointly named MP’s Volunteer of the Year.
• Danielle Jackson from Tregear received the Outstanding Achievement Award,
• Sharfraz Rahim from Oakhurst received the Community Leadership Award
• George Laszuk from Hebersham received the Award for Long-term Commitment to Community Service.

The panel of judges gave the Judges Commendation Award to Shweta Sharma from Blacktown.

“I want to thank the judges Chris Pilao of Rooty Hill RSL, Josephine Rechichi and Catherine White from W.A.S.H House and Mr Greg O’Neill from Crawford Public School - for their diligence in reviewing the nominations and making the difficult decisions.”

A full list of award recipients is attached.

2013 Chifley Volunteer Awards Winners

Do you like this post?
Ed Husic MP
Federal Labor Member for Chifley

Ed supports